The David Hockney Challenge was just the beginning…..

Wine Glasses…..

by Carole Hagan

My four small quilts were inspired by David Hockney’s quick sketch of a wine glass.

I used curved stitching for the backgrounds, cut in 4 different ways -and made the wine glasses from scrunched up tissue paper stuck onto muslin and painted with fabric paint.

I have then replicated his reflection on one glass (sewn onto the glass), and then shown his signature spectacles, his hand holding a glass and a lit cigarette! Hopefully all very David Hockney!

I have included a copy of the original picture that inspired me.

I have enjoyed making these quilts, there’s a lot of pressing to do and a bit of touching up but they are more or else finished!

image

image

image

image

This picture provided the inspiration for my designs

This picture provided the inspiration for my designs

Comments on: "Wine Glasses….." (1)

  1. Olga Short said:

    Congratulations to all the ladies at Waltham Windmill. Your work is beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

