The David Hockney Challenge was just the beginning…..

Scaling up…..

by Karen Lane

At long last, after making 3 small quilts, and promising Mary I would make a large one, I have finally made a start on it!  It’s going to be a scaled up version of one I made at the Cranwell Group earlier this year with the theme “what Winter means to me” (20″x 15″).

What Winter Means To Me

What Winter Means To Me

Last Winter had been all about trees as far as I was concerned.  Researching Hockney’s work led to me developing a fascination of my own for trees and woodlands and I began photographing them wherever I went.  This quilt is based on a photograph I took while out walking in the woods at Woodhall Spa.

The woods at Woodhall Spa

The woods at Woodhall Spa

Dyed with Procian and drawn with Inktense prior to burning!

Dyed with Procian and drawn with Inktense prior to burning!

I began by soda soaking my fabric prior to dyeing with Procian.  Unfortunately I think I must have used too much soda.  Although I covered it before ironing I still managed to burn the entire area above the tree tops!  The dyed area was fine, just the white space above was burnt, so I decided rather than start again, to cut out the trees and make a huge piece of appliqué.

Layering with organza and netting

Layering with organza and netting

I’ve layered organza and netting and machine stitched the background trees in the same way as I did for the smaller version but this time using more variety of colours.  The next step was to add the woodland floor before layering my appliqué woodland, sky fabric and wadding.  The foreground trees have now been tacked in position.

The foreground trees are tacked in position.

The foreground trees are tacked in position.

I’m not looking forward to quilting the trees in place as its already very bulky but where there’s a will there’s a way!

Comments on: "Scaling up….." (4)

  1. This just gets better and better. Your work really has shown a progression. I think this is because you have gone deeper and deeper into your inspiration and techniques combined. I admire your style very much. It’s seen in all your different craft pieces, your vases etc. Me? I’m just all over the place.

    Like

  2. Julie Mackinder said:

    This is excellent Karen! Well done for sorting out the soda issue. I shall look forward to seeing the quilt in real life.

    Like

    • Thanks Julie. Another thing I learnt from doing this one was that pressing your quilt can dramatically improve the look…..I almost threw it in the bin when I stood back and saw the puckers all over it but thankfully the iron got rid of most of them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

